Fuel tank issues

Looking to Customise your trike? See this section for ideas 'where to' and how.
simonhoskins

Fuel tank issues

Post by simonhoskins »

Just after some advice on replacing or repairing my fuel tank, there's a nasty crack that seems to have gotten bigger as the miles go up.

it had been tiger sealed by the previous owner, but after leaking slightly i scraped it all down and sealed once before and the crack was a lot smaller.
Ive sealed it as in the picture, this time purely to get me the 20 miles home today, but obviously don't want to keep using it as it is.

It's always rattled and knocked badly from the inside too, as if it's two layers sort of thing vibrating against itself.
At certain revs it's very loud and at first I thought it was just a healthy exhaust note exhaust [emoji23], it seems as if its rattled itself apart basically, so pretty much had it I think.

I have zero experience or knowledge on welding but I assume the brackets in the picture have been welded on so it can attach to the frame, and would I need to remove them and attach to a new tank I suppose?.. or give to a bloke who can.

That said, could I basically just buy a random tank from ebay maybe? with the right measurements, and have the brackets welded to that and be good to go[emoji848]?.

Apologies if these sound like obvious or beginner questions lol

Cheers
-SiImageImage

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk
jinjachin
Moved in and now we can't get rid

Re: Fuel tank issues

Post by jinjachin »

Put fuel tank sealer into eBay there is loads on there not sure if it will cure your problem but it's worth a try i had a small leak where I I welded my out let pipe a it cured that.fuel tank are not the easiest things to weld to be honest try it if it don't work you will have to weld it .by the way it goes inside the tank tiger seal will never fix it it's not designed for that use hope that helps
1130cc
Twiddler of Forum Buttons and Levers.

Post by 1130cc »