Brakes and ease of registration

Chat about Trikes
Raptormole

Brakes and ease of registration

Post by Raptormole »

Morning every.
I'm new to the world of trikes so prep you self for commonly asked questions, so sorry in advance.

I read some where that the brakes all have to work together and cant have independent front and rear like a bike is that true?

And how easy is it to get the bike reclassed as a tike, my bike is already road reg and legal with a number plate?
Deep Diver
Moved in and now we can't get rid

Re: Brakes and ease of registration

Post by Deep Diver »

You can have independent front and rear but you must have a park brake on at least one rear wheel which is cable, not hydraulic operated
I tried to be normal once, worst two minutes of my life.

Barry the cantankerous old goat. :poke:
Raptormole

Post by Raptormole »

Excellent thanks. That would be the same as the quads then
Kawazuki
Part of the Furniture

Post by Kawazuki »

Raptormole wrote: Thu Nov 04, 2021 8:50 am Morning every.
I'm new to the world of trikes so prep you self for commonly asked questions, so sorry in advance.

I read some where that the brakes all have to work together and cant have independent front and rear like a bike is that true?

And how easy is it to get the bike reclassed as a tike, my bike is already road reg and legal with a number plate?
No probs with independent brakes. As to re-registering one, it depends on how its been converted! If the bike swingarm is retained / modified to take an axle or IRS, AND the frame has not been cut, rewelded or other that prevents it being returned to a two wheeler, then registration may be retained as its defined as a 3 wheel bicycle! If the above conditions cannot be met then you'll have to pass it through an MSVA test by the DVLA and if it passes the original registration mark will be withdrawn and you'll be issued with a 'Q' plate new one.
Raptormole

Post by Raptormole »