Honda CX500 build

This is the place to show off your photos / details of your own trike build or resoration profect.
SteamGirl

Honda CX500 build

Post by SteamGirl »

Morning gang 😊

After my warm welcomes and friendly advice on the tech page about wheelbase, I’ve decided to start a build thread on my Honda CX500 trike, Tinkerbell. I’m warning you now, I’m no expert and certainly don’t claim to know much. I’ve had bikes all my life but now due to a spinal condition, can’t ride 2 wheels anymore. I’m handy with spanner’s and a mig welder and have a small ish wooden workshop in the back garden with a lathe, milling machine etc etc, but I’m not a professional engineer. I’m a tough old bird and can take a bit of stick, but please be kind as it’s my first trike build.

I recently acquired my trike from my brother Pete, a 1978 CX that’s already registered as a trike with the DVLA. She was obviously registered quite a few years back as there are no weights on the V5, just the word tricycle. She will be tax exempt but I wouldn’t be able to claim MOT exemption as the structure has been significantly altered within the last 30 yrs, or at least will have once I’ve finished (please correct me if I’m wrong)

Anyhoo, Tinks literally had the rear half chassis of a Robin Reliant welded to the CX bike frame, leaf springs and all 🤦‍♀️ there was a huge boot but let water in and the frame was rotting, so it had to go.

I’m building my own swingarm from scratch using the full width Reliant axle. This is because my balance and core strength have been badly compromised and I need a wider set of stabilisers lol. I’ve already got a full set of 1987 Goldwing Inerstate panniers, top box and fairing complete with racks and crash bars which I’m going to fit so I’ve got somewhere to put my handbag, shopping and tools 😂 plus it will look cool !